Weight Loss Wednesday – Week 11

I’m aware that, once again, it’s not Wednesday. That’s largely because the upcoming holiday disrupted my schedule. My company gave us an extra day off, so we’re out of the office July 1 through July 4. I decided to go visit my parents Thursday night through Saturday afternoon (and to try on my wedding dress), which threw off my riding lesson, so I’m riding tomorrow – actual Wednesday. Because of that, Scott and I went to weight loss clinic yesterday – Monday – to pick up our shakes and get weighed in and go to class.

This week was the first week I gained. I only gained a pound, and I know exactly what caused it. Scott and I had dinner on Sunday with both sets of parents – a first in our eleven-and-a-half-year relationship. It was a special occasion and we pigged out accordingly. I gotta tell you, I am not sorry. I had a stromboli and a delicious piece of chocolate cake. I’d be willing to bet that if we’d gone to our usual weigh-in, I wouldn’t have shown the gain and would have just broken even.

It’s a setback, albeit a small one.

I’m choosing to focus on the fact that, while I did overeat, I also didn’t eat pre-meal bread and ordered a diet soda with dinner. They’re small victories, but they’re important, because they show that I’m in control of my eating. I chose to overeat, but I also chose to make at least a couple of smart, if small, choices.

Real talk? I suck at healthy eating. I effing love carbs. Love them. Will never not love carbs. Probably will never not love food. As much the doctors and the clinic staff want me to see food as fuel, guess what? Food is good. I like food. I enjoy food. I’m probably never going to be a person who only puts bland things in her mouth because it’s just meant to fuel my movement from Point A to Point B. I will always prefer to pizza to veggies. It’s just who I am.

Recognizing that, I know that going forward, I have to be mindful of what I eat and when I choose to go over, and learn what I can about nutrition so that I can make smarter choices and still eat what I enjoy.

Wedding dress “fitting” (i.e., hauling my dress out of my mom’s closet and trying to squeeze my fat ass into it) happens this weekend. Will keep you updated.

And maybe post something that’s not weight-related soon, but my life is boring, yo.

Leave a Reply

