I just want to be a part of this.

I’ve been trying to do this for at least a week (and frankly, I’ve been entertaining the notion longer than that), and I’ve come to the conclusion that there’s really no way to start a blog that isn’t awkward and gangly.

I have not had a blog, to which I’ve posted with any regularity, since 2010. Since that time, a lot has happened: I finished my doctorate, I began my career at my dream company (if not necessarily in my dream position, though it’s a position that could get me there), I moved out of my parents’ house, I began planning a wedding, I went back to horseback riding after a ten year hiatus. Also since that time, I’ve become increasingly disinterested in having my personal life broadcast on the internet.

I’ve eased back into things since  graduation. Occasionally, I’ll posted things on Instagram. I almost never post on Facebook. But in the last few months, I’ve kind of missed blogging. I’ve never been a “nice” blogger, because I’ve never been able to stick to one subject. I enjoy lots of things – horses, knitting, planners, tea, being an academic – and restricting myself to one of those things felt too confining.

After some careful thought, I’ve started to feel like this might be a good space to track my goals. I have goals in lots of areas: horses, knitting, fitness (such as it is), academic life post-graduation. I’ve been writing them in my planner, but I haven’t been reflecting on the progress for any of them. Keeping a paper journal isn’t my thing, I’ve learned, so blogging it is.

To that end, let’s look at my (perhaps utterly ridiculous) March goals.

Knitting & Craftiness

  • Finish the Leventry shawl I’m currently working on, or at least the body portion
    • 3 repeats by March 6 (17 repeats total out of 26)
    • 3 repeats by March 12 (20 repeats total out of 26)
    • 3 repeats by March 19 (23 repeats total out of 26)
    • 3 repeats by March 26 (26 repeats total out of 26)
  • Start the shawl border by the end of the month

Riding & Fitness

  • Learn to post from my knees and thighs – not my back!
  • Keep fingers closed – “relaxed upper body” does not mean “lose your reins”
  • Work on cardio and stamina out of the saddle to improve same in the saddle
  • Hit the gym at least 2 times per week, in addition to weekly ride
  • Lose at least 5 pounds this month via calorie tracking

Professional

  • Develop a deadline schedule for editing my dissertation for publication
  • Finish at least the preliminary edits on the literature review
  • Renew American Psychological Assoc. (APA) membership if finances allow
  • Look into American Educational Research Assoc. (AERA) membership

Personal

  • 15 minutes of training with Bailey, my eclectus parrot, daily
Leave a Reply

